In association with the City of Edinburgh Council
Edinburgh
Trusted Trader

MH Autos

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
 4.8 out of 5 based on 25 reviews and feedback
Trusted Trader since 2015

MH Autos
Unit 9 St Ninians Drive
Edinburgh
EH12 8AJ
0131 334 8166
  

Business Information

MH Autos is a one stop vehicle repair centre based in the popular residential hub of Corstorphine, Edinburgh, Scotand.

Our Edinburgh garage services provide complete vehicle repair solutions including body shop repairs, MOT testing, wheel alignment, air conditioning, car servicing, diagnostics and commercial vehicles.

Trader Map Location

Reviews and Feedback

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
4.8 out of 5 based on 25 reviews.
Order by:
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   4th May 2021
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Another excellent job from MH Autos today and I’m very happy with the price.

MOT and Major Service.

Highly recommend these guys.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   14th January 2021
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1001 - £5000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Had an incident with the car and the insurer appointed repairer suggested a value that was more than the car's value (the car is fairly new and the damage was minor - the cost of the body work was much higher than the actual cost of the parts) and the car was going to be written off. We are not in a position to lose the car and buy another one. Financially this is simply impossible at our state.

So got approval for a second estimate, collected the car from this repairer (a really frosty interaction when we went to collect) and came to M H Autos (as recommended by my trusty garage) a bit worried as to the next step.

What a relief! Malcolm and his team were kind, encouraging and had a look at the car and offered an estimate less than 30% of the first one. Insurer was happy to approve and I left the car with the team for a week.

During the period when the car was with them, Edinburgh went to Tier4+, was snowed under (literally - more than 6 inches over a week and daily too) and the next week a message comes saying come and collect the car.

The friendly face in the garage smiles and simply chats away while I pay off the excess and collect the key. And collected the car with the missus and she was so happy (it was her car!) and relieved that the work was of the highest quality and the car looks brand new again! So happy and 2021 is fantastic!

I would thoroughly recommend M H Autos to anyone who needs quality work done on the car and as I can see they do everything MOT to Body repairs.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   13th July 2020
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I love MH Autos professional and supportive approach, and the value for money they offer. I’d absolutely recommend them and simply won’t go anywhere else! It’s great to finally have a garage I trust in my contacts list!

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   3rd April 2020
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I had a tire which was likely illegal. My usual tire fitter was closed due to COVID-19 so I called MH Autos who ordered my tire in and called me the following morning to advise it was in and just pop down to get it fitted.
Nice guy took my car away, I sat in the office and had a great chat with the guy about us working and holidays. Charged me less than my other guy did for the tire and fitting which was great. Was in and out in about 25 mins. Great service, very clean and well maintained garage. I will definitely be back.
They also done a light bulb change for me once in the past. I drive past here for work sometimes, my light was out so stopped to ask if they could help. They sorted me out in 5 mins for a few quid. Thanks MH Autos see you next time.
review stars review stars review stars   30th March 2020
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Speaking to them, they were very nice... the work was done quickly and i assume well.

BUT was crazy expensive. Looking online, multiple garages say replacing a ball joint should be around £100 all in. I got charged £144 +VAT.
Topping up the screenwash? £7.50. A new lightbulb for the registration plate was £3...and i was charged £12 for them screwing it in +VAT.
Unfortunately I had been desperate as another garage had closed due to covid, so had no choice. Definitely will not use again.
Moderator Response
Business response: This is not a fair review. If they were not happy why did both party’s agree to do the work? She did not only get a ball joint but a full suspension arm so her googling costs on a ball joint is not correct. We always get customers full consent and this vehicle was in a dangerous condition. We fitted it in last minute and got her back on the road. To say I’m displeased at the response from her at this difficult time is an understatement, whilst people are fighting to survive in business she feels fit to criticise businesses online.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   22nd January 2020
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I had a repair done to damage caused by my car being bashed by an anonymous vehicle. I am delighted with the work carried out the service was excellent and my car was ready for collection when they said it would be. Excellent job would definitely recommend this garage.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   25th June 2019
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I can not recommend MH Autos enough to people for any car issues you may have. I first came across MH Autos in March 2019, having issued an SOS with regards to my car on a social media community page. 10.30pm the same night, Malcolm Hood from MH Autos got in touch with me asking to bring my car in first thing the following morning which I did. Significant electric issues were found and Alan one of the other colleagues even stayed back late waiting on me to finish work so that I could get my car back the same day! Today my car has been in for an MOT and again blown away by the trustworthiness and honest of these guys. I was expecting a huge bill given the feedback I was given from the last people who put my car through its MOT, this could not be further from the truth! I will never use anyone else for anything ever again when it comes to cars. This garage along with the staff are just "Simply the Best"

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   21st May 2019
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Full service MOT and 2 tyres changed

I've used MH Autos for 3 years now and I can't recommend them enough.

I received an excellent service from these guys, I fully trust their honesty and the price is much lower than a dealer.

I will definitely return.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   1st April 2019
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1001 - £5000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
After experiencing a frightening crash on the motorway caused by another driver ‘rubber necking’ an existing accident, MH Autos responded quickly & efficiently to come to my rescue. They took a lot of stress out of a bad experience by helping deal with the insurance side & getting my car back on the road. Big thanks to the team.

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   18th December 2018
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Dropped my Car off at MH Autos this morning to have my brakes and wheel balancing checked, I was met at the door by the owner Malcolm who couldn’t have been more helpful and said they would get straight on to it. I was surprised to receive a call from a member of Malcolm’s team at 3pm to say the car was completely fixed and ready for collection.
Picked the car up and couldn’t of been happier with the results. Great job and great garage I highly recommend their services.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   23rd November 2018
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I was delighted to have my car repaired after months of worry. No one could find the fault and the car was becoming very unreliable, so when Dale discovered the problem and subsequently fixed it I could not have been more pleased.
The garage were also really excellent at keeping in touch and explaining what was wrong with the car, breaking down costs and generally reassuring me that it could be repaired.

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   1st May 2018
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Ordered tyres through BlackCircles and had them fitted at MH. Dropped the wheels off and went for a haircut! Came back and they were good to go. Excellent service.

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   19th November 2017
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Initially chose these guys simply because they were near a good coffee spot, but couldn't have been happier with their service. Staff were sincere and friendly, with an excellent price and really fast turnaround. Will be happily reusing them every time.

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   13th November 2017
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I was recommended this garage and though it is a fair distance from me, I am in Fife, it is worth the distance and i would not go anywhere else now. The customer care is excellent and all work and costs are discussed in advance. I would recommend to anyone looking for a reliable and trustworthy garage.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   31st May 2017
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
This was my first visit to this MH Autos as they were recommend to me by a friend. I got a service and an MOT, excellent price, great customer care and I'm extremely happy with the service I received. If anybody is looking for a garage they can trust then look no further than MH Autos.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   21st March 2017
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Excellent service from everyone at MH autos. Friendly, polite and professional. I would not take my car anywhere else.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   15th August 2016
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I am quite new to MH Autos Had MOT last year and again today and a car repair a few weeks ago. I found the service excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly so will most definitely be using them from now on as its hard to find a good reliable garage at times. Thanks for great work.

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   10th May 2016
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I have used Malcolm and his team for many years now, mainly due to the reliable work and decent value for money. I travel 30 miles to get work done on my vehicles. Excellent knowledge , always willing to explain a fault or repair and uses the best value parts that can be sourced. In comparison to my local garages, MH Autos are excellent.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   10th May 2016
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I have used this garage for a very long time and have always been happy with the service especially last week when I needed a new battery and they came to the house and jump started my car free of charge so I could get to work on time.
review stars review stars   10th May 2016
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars
Review Comments
Booked my car into Malcolm and MH Autos via Blackcircles to have 2 tyres fitted and wheel alignment completed. After having the car for the morning I got a call in the afternoon to say they were unable to fit the second tyre because of issues with the first and they didn't have the correct software to complete the wheel alignment!!! After going to a second garage (and wheel alignment specialist) they fitted the second tyre no issues and then advised that it as not recommended to complete the wheel alignment until after the suspension had settled after the tyre change. To use the specialists words "taking your money know would be easy but it wouldn't be right"....something MH Autos were willing to do!
After getting home also realised that the air caps were missing and had to make another round trip to collect!!!
In short wouldn't recommend and surprised they have a good rating on Blackcircles.
Moderator Response
Malcolm Hood, MD of MH Autos has made the following reply : -

Firstly I am very concerned by any negative review and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations it was very unexpected not to be able to complete the work on your vehicle this was due to a software issue, We did recommended and supplied details of the second garage to complete the work.

If we are carrying out wheel alignment we always drive the car round the block if new tyres have been fitted in order for the suspension to settle we did not do this as we were unable to carry out the alignment.

I feel I must stress at no stage would we never take payment for something we have not done which is why we stopped at the stage we did and recommended another garage.

Lastly we had fitted a new valve to the tyre we did change and the fitter did not refit the original gold cap however I was willing to bring this and fit it wherever the car was.

I can only apologise again and reassure you this is a one off for us which is why as you mentioned we have only good reviews.
1 2 »