In association with the City of Edinburgh Council
Edinburgh
Trusted Trader

Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
 4.3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews and feedback
Trusted Trader since 2015

Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd
2 Corunna Place
Edinburgh
EH6 5JG
0131 629 3167
  

Trade Associations

Trade Association Membership

Images and Photographs

Select any image to see a larger version.
Image 1 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 2 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 3 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 4 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 5 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 6 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 7 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 8 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 9 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 10 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 11 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd Image 12 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd

Business Information

We specialise in all aspects of Extensions, Loft/ Garage / Barn Conversions and single plot builds along with Period renovations / Kitchens / Bathrooms and all structural works.

We are also Marshalls Registered, award winning hard landscapers. Building walls, patios and driveways with a 10 year guarantee.

The majority of our staff are uniformed, full time trades people who are fully insured up to the value of £5m.

We offer a full design and build service and can also offer our Architect and Engineer on more serious projects.

Please feel free to give us a call to arrange an appointment and we will be happy to provide you with a quote.

Please feel free to visit our facebook page
www.facebook.com/Caledonianbuilding/

Trader Map Location

Reviews and Feedback

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
4.3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.
Order by:
review stars review stars   24th September 2020
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £25,000+
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars
Review Comments
They were employed to rewire our house, fit new flooring & doors and do some general repair work. It was agreed that if we moved out and put our things in storage then the bulk of the work could be completed in 3 weeks and the remaining finishing would be completed once we moved back.

It actually took more than 6 weeks before we could move back, much of this delay was probably down to the fact that they didn't even come to the house every day, or would just turn up for a few hours in the evening.

The quality of the finishing on the new flooring, woodwork and plaster work was very poor and we had to pay someone else to come in and tidy everything up before we could decorate.

Their communication was awful and the promised invoice tracking and detailed invoices never materialised. In the end it took almost a year to get all of the work finished and even then we had to give up on getting some errors and snags fixed.

Overall I could never recommend this company to anyone.
Moderator Response
Business response: We feel we must reply here to allow our side to be seen and allow people to draw their own conclusion . It is regretful that some jobs go wrong or the domestic customers expectations are sometimes very different to what is possible within requested time frames. Where we feel we get it right most of the time, we do sometimes find a job can take longer than expected due to supply or technical issues along with unexpected sick days etc. It is for this reason, we do always provide timelines but also advise extra time should be allowed.
We are very sorry things did not work out on this occasion and no matter what we did, or said, things could not be set right.

With regards to the time frame of the job. We made things perfectly clear within the quote we emailed that this was allocated 5 weeks to complete. It was also discussed on more than one occasion that a further two weeks may be required where the client could have stayed with parents or move back in and we would complete the works around them should we run over up to a further two weeks given the unpredictability of some items.
Our staff were then confronted by a very angry client on week two of the job who was shouting at the crew calling them names because they would not be complete on time and we had messed the house up (we were doing a re-wire and floor was bare boards). It was at this point we had a joiner refuse to return so we had to work a back shift with a separate crew to keep up. Luckily the situation was diffused when our manager spoke to the client's spouse and calmed the situation.
We are aware work going on in your house is frustrating especially with the intrusive nature of a re-wire combined with replacing all skirts, facings and flooring.

We infact did complete the works within the 5 week period and planned doing snags over the next week or so but instead of moving into the house the client chose to move into a different rented apartment until snags were complete (the further two weeks we discussed) As we did not want to continue a bad relationship, we removed £600 from the bill to put towards the rented accommodation.

Many emails, telephone calls and meetings were had during the works so we do not agree that our communication was poor. Perhaps not as conversational as it could have been given the circumstances.

Lastly, yes, a final snag was cleared approx 9 months later due to awaiting a factory re order of a door which was the wrong colour and COVID 19 closing us down for 4 of those months.

We are sorry a client had a bad experience and we were taught a valuable lesson while discussing time frames and managing expectations.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   19th June 2020
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £25,000+
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Gary and Ian took on the installation of an accessible bathroom for our nonagenarian parents. This had become urgently necessary and when the lockdown started during the second week of the build we faced a real problem. Once clearance was given to continue because of the circumstances here, and only then if all necessary hygiene and social distancing was in place, they made immense efforts to solve all the supply difficulties and get the work done. Everyone was clearly well-briefed on how to work under these conditions, with good hand hygiene, face masks and distancing.

The work itself has been carried out to a very high standard (we love the shutters that Ian made from scratch, for example), and excellent quality control has meant that any issues have been promptly resolved.

We would happily use this team again.

review stars   20th July 2019
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1001 - £5000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars
Review Comments
We chose to have our patio work done by Caledonian over 2 other companies precisely because they are part of the Edinburgh Trusted Traders scheme and Marshall’s registered installers.

The 1 star review reflects the fact that we are happy with the overall quality of the work completed, thanks only to Wayne and Alfie who were courteous, helpful and worked very hard. Our complaint rests wholly with the unprofessional behaviour of the management. ETT’s code of practice sets out expectations of how traders should treat customers and complaints, which as explained below wasn't the case in our experience.

4 stars deducted for:
1) Lack of effective communication throughout the project:

I had to chase them multiple times for information as they volunteered no updates about when the guys would be on site, missed multiple meetings with us and didn't return some of our calls. Regardless of whether someone from the office is on holiday, it does not excuse terrible communication, especially after your customer has raised concerns in writing about your poor communication.

2) Lack of effective documentation throughout the project.

From the initial consultation, there was apparently a total misunderstanding of what level we wanted the patio laid at. There were no specifics in the cost estimate about what height the path should be laid at, or to what depth we would prepare the ground. We, the customer, were then accused of changing the requirements and there was unfortunately no written evidence to the contrary.

Not told upfront what the payment terms would be for our job (3 days).
Not told what the period was for reporting snagging.

3) Lack of customer service.

When responding to my complaint about poor communication and then afterwards that the patio had been laid at the wrong level, the company owner's reaction was defensive, dismissive of our concerns, as well as at times what we perceived as aggressive. He offered no practical solutions. If it weren’t for his guys confirming there was actually a way to do what we wanted, then we would have asked them to leave our property immediately.

4) Failure to follow their own terms of service as well as Edinburgh Trusted Traders’ code of practice.
• Cost of rework was not provided and approved before work was complete as per their own terms.
• Rework charges seemed unfair - included double the amount of days' labour than was actually spent doing the rework without explanation
• Intended to charge us a percentage fee to pay by credit card despite this being illegal since 2012.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   23rd April 2019
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £5001 - £25,000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Initial visit very helpful - engaged well with the project in hand and had good ideas
Good value for money
Very high standard of workmanship for all trades
Communicated well and checked with us at each stage of the project
All the tradesmen cleared up after work
Trustworthy
Project finished within the expected timeframe
Delighted with end result and no hesitation in recommending this company
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   4th December 2017
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1 - £1000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Quick and efficient overall service; work completed to high standard and really clear communication from their office too. Will be using again!

review stars review stars review stars review stars   4th June 2017
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £25,000+
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Clean, tidy and considerate. Very friendly and pleasant workmen.
Excellent quality of joinery taking a real pride in the work.

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   17th May 2017
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1001 - £5000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
We used Caledonian Building a few years ago for some internal work in our house and were very happy with the standard of work done. A few weeks ago Gary and his team did a great job of erecting a boundary fence for us, having to deal with extremely difficult neighbours at the same time. They were professional and did the job to a very high standard, I would have no hesitation in using Caledonian Building again if I required any kind of work done in the future.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   29th August 2016
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £5001 - £25,000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Gary and his team at Caledonian Building and Landscaping were excellent throughout the planning and delivery of a large garden renovation project. The work involved taking a raised, non-child-friendly garden, and redesigning it to be a private, attractive and fun family space. Gary was great in providing honest advice and guidance, including bringing in specialists such as engineers and specialist garden landscapers as required, and always sought to provide the best quality solution or product, while keeping a keen eye on the costs. He and his team worked effectively in managing the various work strands, including removing hundreds of tons of earth and rubble to flatten the garden and have built us a brilliant garden space that we have so enjoyed this summer. We would have no hesitation in recommending Gary and Caledonian Building & Landscaping.

Review Image 1 for Caledonian Building & Landscaping Ltd by Richard Cockbain 
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   9th July 2015
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1001 - £5000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Caledonian Building & Landscaping Limited arrived at time arranged to quote, discussed and suggested decking options for us to consider, estimated the number of days of work required and explained a 30% deposit would be required should their quote be accepted.

The scheduled works were carried out methodically and meticulously, keeping us informed throughout the contract of any unforeseen issues, ie an unknown manhole including measures to resolve. At the end of each days work the site was cleared and cleaned up.

The contractor was proactive regarding our requirements, kept us informed, deployed an efficient/friendly team and carried out/completed the work to a high specification.

review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   26th April 2015
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1001 - £5000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
I was very satisfied with the workmanship done by this company. The guys arrived on time and completed the job to a very high standard. I would definitely recommend them.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   14th April 2015
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £25,000+
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Very professional service. Reliable and polite team.

Work finished to a high standard and would have no hesitation recommending to family and friends.

Good value for money.
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   23rd March 2015
Value of Products/Services or Work Performed: £1001 - £5000
Ratings
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Value for money
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Customer service or reliability
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Quality of service or product
review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars   Likelihood to use again or recommend
Overall Rating  review stars review stars review stars review stars review stars
Review Comments
Professional, very reliable, excellent follow up service, dealt with all issues promptly.

No hesitation in recommending this trader.